The last post for 2014

I have been pleasantly surprised at the number of people wondering about the next post. More news. An update. Something to soothe that little itch that an unfulfilling post spelling disaster and dreams at full arrest left.

Well, here it is. The last post for 2014. 

2014 has been a very eventful year. We got married, and what a great wedding it was. Planning a wedding can bring the bride and groom firmer together. But that is probably due to the proven fact that when faced with great challenges, a tight group will stand shoulder to shoulder. And so did we. I do admit that at some point the challenges and demands where so great that I actually booked a wedding-slot with a Norwegian Sailors-church in Copenhagen, Denmark. I just figured “screw it!”, but my wife-to-be held firm and brought the planned wedding back on track. I still have the occasional all-night nightmare where I have to figure out how to fit 150 people on 40 chairs. Despite the occasional  nightmare, June 14 was the most important day in my life. With Tonje at my side, there is really nothing I can’t deal with…

Best day of my life
Best day of my life
…which is good, ’cause at times it’s been real hectic. Among the highlights: The motorcycle adventure was changed to a 4×4 adventure 3 weeks before our planned departure. The bikes where sold, two weeks after we left, with the help of Ståle Svendsen at Auto Garage AS. A Pajero bought and kitted. Transportation from Spain to Argentina collapsed 9 weeks into the trip, and with it the dream of driving South- and Central America disintegrated. As I was trying to wrap my head around the consequences this would have for our trip, Tonje stood firm at my side, and made sure I had the space I needed to think.

We returned  back home to Stavanger, Norway, to regroup, plan and work a little. Then come spring, new adventures await. At this point, however, the final details are a little unclear. Come January, we’ll know more. As soon as I know more, I’ll make sure to post the news here 🙂

20141205_103906

Bersagel, our little hideaway between adventures..

 

Choices
2014 has been a lot about choices, and about relations to former, current and newfound friends. Some friends I didn’t know I had, that stood out and went far beyond the scope of any expectations, even the kind of expectations you would normally have for close friends. It’s been a real eye-opener for me. But then again others turned out to be a waste of time and energy. We all make choices in life. All choices has consequences. That in itself is not a bad thing. Walk in the rain, the consequence is you get wet. Walk in the sun, you get warm, and potentially sunburned. Cause and effect. Consequence. I admit being very pissed, hurt and angry at some of the choices that where made, and the effect they have had in my life. In retrospect I can’t believe how much time and pondering I allowed myself to spend on just a few issues that couldn’t be fixed, people that wheren’t my friends. So very counter-productive. Stupid even.

However, all this thinking lead me to the only sensible conclusion: I refuse to spend any more time or energy on this… Some situations, along with their instigators, are better left behind in the dust. I’ll never again allow this kind of misplaced trust in former relations to affect my life. Cause and effect. Consequence. It’s not good or bad. It just is.

With this decision came peace of mind. Funny how things turn out.

2015..
2015 on the other hand, holds promises of new adventures, work opportunities, tears and laughter, good times and bad times. And I welcome it all, shoulder to shoulder with the best team-player I know, my best friend and closest confidant, my beautiful wife Tonje.

Tags: ,

About christerberentsen

Always searching. The world is my playground.

One response to “The last post for 2014”

  1. Jarle Eek says :

    Lykke til med planleggingen. Håper det ordner seg. Fortsatt noen mnd til jeg reiser men det nærmer seg 🙂

Leave a comment